I love chaos

So, I started a new job and I’m really enjoying it. I’ve missed working, if I’m being honest. Or maybe it’s just that I miss making money – I’m not even making a lot of it, but the regularity of a paycheck is incredibly comforting. I like feeling like I’m providing for myself, even if I don’t make enough to live off of yet. (Or…again?) 

But the thing I missed the most was having the incredible chaos of juggling projects, learning new skills, and interacting with people. I love the days when I am going straight from one thing to the next to the next, answering phones and talking to guests, all while making sure everything gets taken care of. (I’m still learning, so not everything gets taken care of perfectly, but my teammates are great about answering my millions of questions, so that’s helpful.) I love finding ways to make things better, to make the guests’ experience just a little bit smoother, to go beyond expectations. 

It’s also an interesting experience because I’ve only ever worked in one other job this focused on image, and it was at the complete opposite end of the spectrum. There I looked like a camp counselor, a trusted friend for the kids that came into the shop. Now I get to glam it up a bit: do my hair, do my make-up, put on a pretty dress. I love it. 

Chaos is so energizing. I need half an hour to be able to talk at a normal speed after I finish a shift because my mind is going a thousand miles an hour and if I’m talking to somebody I have to tell them how this and this and this and this and this and this and this andthisandthisandthisandthis happened. 

But today is a pocket of calm where I will clean, climb, and write. And procrastinate all of these things by writing a blog post.

Leave a Reply

